Just like a document, image or presentation you make your website needs to be saved at regular intervals to ensure your work isn't lost. We recommend that you save your site after making significant changes.
To do so, click the Save button on the right of the top bar in the editor. Saving just means the changes you have made are saved, it does not mean the changes are now live on the website. Publishing is the action for pushing changes live to your site.